Very high nitrates!

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Very high nitrates!

Hey everyone, so I'm new to the saltwater world but I have a 65 gallon tank and I saved all the water from the person I got it from all the levels are perfect except the nitrates they are around 160 and I don't know how to get them down!

Sent from my SM-G935T using ACAC mobile app

Several water changes...... if you do a 50% water change they'll cut in half to 80.... etc

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Comment

Did you recently move the tank? Did it have sand in it? Did you reuse the sand?

If you can give us a bit more info about your tank we can help. Water changes are a good start at reducing them. But you need to. E using water that doesn't have nitrates in it. Rodi water is your best choice.

Be more than happy to help so give us some info and bit us with questions!

Alex

Sent from my iPhone using ACAC
      -----Alex & Amanda-----

Comment

Yes I moved it I just bought it off someone who said they've been doing it for 10 years and got lazy so I think it's due to lack of maintenance and it has sand I think it's crushed coral it's black and white and pretty think. I didn't a water change today about 30%

Comment

If you used the sand sand/crush coral they had in the tank there is a good chance it's pretty nasty if tank is that old. Might be best to go with some new sand to help

-----Alex & Amanda-----

Comment

Agreed with Alex. If the sand is that old, you would better with new sand and plus we don't keep crush corals nowadays because they trap too much debris.

Comment

What are you using for s water source ??

-----Alex & Amanda-----

Comment

So in order to put new sand in would I have to drain the tank? And I've been using ro water from the LFS

Comment